The Tudor Beasts Series

Author: Jon Clarke - Bullion & Economics Editor

Published: 12 Oct 2021

Last Updated: 14 Oct 2021


The highly successful Queen's Beasts series of proof and bullion coins brought together the 10 heraldic beasts whose statues stood guard at the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II.

Here we look at the coins of The Royal Mint's Tudor Beasts and contrast them with those of the previous series.

The Queen's Beasts

The Queen’s Beasts series of coins ran from 2016 to 2021 and was well received by many collectors, particularly the final coin in the series, the “completer” coin which featured all 10 creatures on the reverse.

The Queen’s Beasts celebrate the heraldic ancestry of HM Queen Elizabeth II.

The Tudor Beasts

Following on from the successful Queen’s Beasts range, the Royal Mint announced the release of The Tudor Beasts series. The Tudor Beasts, sometimes called the King's Beasts,  are the 10 heraldic statues that represent the ancestry of King Henry VIII and his third wife Jane Seymour. They comprise of:

  • The Seymour Panther - (released 7/10/2021)
  • The Lion of England
  • The Greyhound of Richmond
  • The Yale of Beaufort
  • The Tudor Dragon
  • The Seymour Unicorn
  • The Royal Dragon
  • The Queen's Lion
  • The Black Bull of Clarence
  • The Queen's Panther

Originally a medieval tradition, King Henry VII began to use heraldic symbols as a way to reinforce his position on the throne. His son Henry VIII continued this tradition and many of these Tudor Beasts, are on display at one of Henry VIII’s favourite residences, Hampton Court Palace.

The Tudor Beasts Coins

Over the next 5 years, the Royal Mint will issue coins for each of the Tudor Beasts, which according to the Privy Council, will be issued in the following sizes:

Proof Coins

Gold: £2,000 (2kg), £1,000 (1kg), £500 piedfort (10 oz), £500 (5 oz), £200 (2 oz), £100 (1 oz), £25 (0.25 oz) 
Silver: £1,000 (2 kg), £500 (1kg), £10 piedfort (10 oz), £10 (5 oz), £5 (2 oz), £2 (1 oz), 
Platinum: £100 (1 oz) 
Base Metal: £5 

Bullion Coins

Gold £100 (1 oz), gold £25 (0.25 oz), silver £10 (10 oz), silver £5 (2 oz)

The designer for the entire Tudor Beasts series is English surrealist artist and coin designer David Lawrence.

The Seymour Panther

The first in the series brings us The Seymour Panther. The symbol of the panther was first given to Catherine of Aragon, then Anne Boleyn and finally Jane Seymour.

The panther is depicted as ferocious with flames coming from its mouth but actually came to symbolize the peaceful union between the King and his consort who would bear him the male heir he was so desperate for.

The coin features the Panther clutching a shield bearing the Seymour Wings. The wings are conjoined in lure meaning that the wing tips are pointing downwards.

The panther is one beast that didn't appear in the Queen's Beasts series.

More Coming Soon!

Related Blog Articles

Related Products

This guide and its content is copyright of Chard (1964) Ltd - © Chard (1964) Ltd 2022. All rights reserved. Any redistribution or reproduction of part or all of the contents in any form is prohibited.

We are not financial advisers and we would always recommend that you consult with one prior to making any investment decision.

You can read more about copyright or our advice disclaimer on these links.